NATIONAL AUTOTEST CHAMPIONSHIPS a review of the 2009 season

Just a quick review on the 2009 AUTOTEST scene.

The **BTRDA** and the **MSA** championships are now finished, with Alastair Moffatt (mini special) ending the year as double champion —congratulations to Alastair, a worthy champion. Those of you who there, would have seen Alastair in action at our **Kent Driver Autotest** back in May. But he didn't quite have things all his own way — more later.

<u>Best Event</u> Once again, the prestigious title of 'Best Event' (out of 14) in the BTRDA championship goes to the **MMKMC Kent Driver Autotest**. The club will be presented with the (rather large) Flather Shield at the Luncheon on 31st January 2010 at Moor Hall, Sutton Coldfield.

The title is awarded to the highest scoring event, as voted for by the competitors – no mean feat as they can be a fussy bunch at times. So a special thanks must go to **Dave and Ann Cook** the driving force behind the event and all those who they conscript into helping. In particular **Karen Chambers** (results); **Lloyd Bass**, **Richard Olsen and Barry Callen** (muscle power); **Andy & Charlotte Jenner**, **Emma Olsen**, **Tim Mewett**, **Liz Jordan** and the now **Mr & Mrs Browne** (start & finish teams); **Toby Cook** (rapid response on BMX) and all the marshals and helpers on the day.

MSA British ChampionshipThis championship proved to be a fight to the end. **Dave Cook** (RS100E) took full advantage of the new class E, for road going Saloons, with an unequalled string of 8 out of 8 class wins, and lead the championship for most of the year Both Richard Pinkney (caterham) and John Moffatt (nova) managing 7 out of 8. Alastair Moffatt (mini special) had three seconds; round one Hereford, round four when Paul Swift returned to do his local event in Hartlepool, and round seven Owen,but with FTD on the other five events, each gaining one extra point, meant he ended the year on 64 points (best 6). This left **Cook**, Pinkney and Moffatt jnr all equal second on 60. All was sorted with a tie decider, that gave Richard Pinkney a well deserved 2nd, John Moffatt 3rd, and **Dave Cook** 4th. With the Gold, Silver and Bronze awards sorted, class awards went to **Cook**; Howard Everingham (mini); Lee Valentine (nova): Steve Morten (raw striker) and Stuart Perren (special)

Three other MMK members made the big step of moving up to top level tarmac events, in the new class E. **Lloyd Bass** (nova) who is now totally hooked and building a 'proper' nova for 2010, did all 8 events and ended a very creditable 9th O/A & 2nd in class. The other two, **Brian Sharpe** (charade) did 3 events, with **Thomas Grant** (KA) doing just one - the **Kent Driver**. I'm sure they both found tarmac autotesting quite a challenge, but I know they thoroughly enjoyed themselves and must be congratulated.

BTRDA National Championship

Alastair Moffatt did the double by winning the Gold Star championship on 159 points. He was pushed all the way by 2nd place man Stephen Wild (ABS) on155 and 3rd placed Richard Pinkney on153, who finally managed an FTD on the last event after a string of 8 second O/A's. MMK member

Chris Atkinson (subaru buggy) only managed to fit in nine events, and dropping his one really bad score left him 7th O/A

The **Silver Star** championship was settled by a tie decider, as only 8 scores are counted. This time, going in favour of **Dave Cook** for overall honours, with ten wins from ten events. This left 2008 champion Howard Everingham to take 2nd O/A with nine wins from 14 events. **Lloyd Bass** completed his steep learning curve and finished a creditable 5th O/A. Other MMK members were **Brian Sharpe** 26th, **Clair Atkinson** (subaru buggy) 27th, **Jim Pullar** (micra) 31st and **Ann Cook** who did 2 events in the 100E (just that, deserves an award!) 34th out of 39

In the **Bronze Star** – Novice championship, overall honours went to our own **Lloyd Bass**, which has to be the best end to his first season at top level. He won by a massive margin of 22 points, which is emphasised by the fact that there was only 1 point separating 2nd and 4th !! **Brian Sharpe** ended up 8th after only doing 4 events and **Ann Cook** was 11th from just 2 events.

A quick review of the classes sees Class A – minis, going to Howard Everingham; Class B – Saloons, John Moffatt; Class C – sports cars, Richard Pinkney with Chris Atkinson 3rd and Clair Atkinson 11th; Class D – specials, Allastair Moffatt; Class E – road going, Dave Cook with Lloyd Bass 2nd, Brian Sharpe 3rd, Jim Pullar 5th and Ann Cook 6th. Helen Perren (special) takes the Ladies Award with Clair Atkinson 2nd. and Ann Cook 4th.

That just leaves the **Ken Wharton Autotest** – a season finale international team event - to round off an excellent year. Organised by Hagley and District Light Car Club, and held in the grounds of the Arrow Mill Hotel, just outside Stratford on Avon. It is always a nail biting finish with drivers fighting for individual honours and classes, as well as the overall team award. It requires nerves of steel and good team tactics, as too steady will not produce the quickest time and one penalty could drop the team from first to third. This year was no exception and that's just about what happened. Overall honours going to the Republic of Ireland, after some mistakes by the England team dropped them to third, eventually climbing back to second after some fantastic runs by the four team members. FTD went to Eddie Peterson IRE (mini special) with Englands Richard Pinkney taking the sports car honours. **Clair Atkinson** ended the day best lady, finally beating Helen Perren, and having earned her place in the England Ladies team.

Results:

1st – Republic of Ireland – Eamonn Byrne, David Thompson, Steven Bolton, Eddie Peterson – 2141.4

2nd – England –Dave Mosey, John Moffatt, Richard Pinkney, Allastair Moffatt – 2158.9

3rd – Northern Ireland – Robin Lyons, Raymond Donaldson, Ashley Lamont, Steven Ferguson – 2171.1

Well, that's about it for 2009, all in all a fantastic year for MMK and its 'autotesters' I'm sure they all have lots of stories to tell and are all busy planning their attack for 2010 based on what they have learnt (or what they haven't broken) this year.

Next event: - Hagley & DLCC - 14th March 2010 - Curborough - BTRDA round!

Keep autotesting.

Dave Cook.



Alastair Moffat – MSA & BTRDA Goldstar Champion on his way to 2nd O/A at the Owen MC event



Dave Cook – **BTRDA Silver Star Champion**, working hard with a big car at the Herefordshire CC event on his way to win number two



Lloyd Bass – **2009 BTRDA Bronze Star Champion**, on his first championship round at the Bolton-le-Moors CC event way back in April



Richard Pinkney – 2nd O/A MSA, and 3rd O/A BTRDA Gold Star, always spectacular to watch with his maximum attack style in action at the BTRDA Best Event 2009 – MMKMC's Kent Driver Autotest.